the beauty of new beginnings

 

January 1, 2011. I have officially written it. Just like college was a beautiful new beginning- new friends, new impressions, new places, new leaders, etc.- a new year has that same excitement for me. It starts me thinking about all that God might have in store for me this year, seeing as how anything I ever plan to happen on my own goes completely differently than expected. This last year was one of my most difficult years of life by far- but as I start a new year, and look back at the last, I can say it was one of my most growing years, rewarding years, and fulfilling years. I also came to find that God works that way, almost every year. I remember a couple years ago on New Years Eve, my best friend Rachel and I laid down in her court, staring up at the stars, predicting what the following year might look like. And as we rounded the end of that year the following New Years Eve, reminiscing on the year, what God had taught us, etc., we found that God took us down a completely different, more purposeful path. That never means that it is always easy, fun, or exciting. Sometimes it is frightening, difficult, and even lonely- but God always brings us into a new place, a better place.

 

So as this new year starts off, I get excited for all that God has in store. Because from past experience, I can trustingly say that it will be WAY different, WAY more thrilling, and WAY more unexpected than I can imagine. I like to think of this new year as a new beginning… a time to start over, putting all that I am learning into practice- loving God and others more, trusting God more, asking God for more of himself, serving more, and giving more.

 

“The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word. After he had provided purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty in heaven.”

-Hebrews 1:3

 

God is so much greater than what I think I need to do in the next year, who I need to become, or where I think I need to be. And because he is so great, he in his own being can not leave us as we are, down empty paths of fear and sin. He will faithfully transform us, carry us, hold us, mold us, and shape us into new creations this year… if we let him. And to be honest, God has so faithfully answered some of my deepest prayers, that I know praying a prayer of transformation means that it will happen… and that is not an easy process… so sometimes I get a little scared to pray that prayer. But going back to the character of God always reminds us that he always gives us a new beginning if we need one. And his grace is endless. So perfect and endless. Just for us. Let us learn to live in it this year, Father. We ask that your grace would be enough- because it is. Guide us, I pray.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

