hmmmm

I felt like it was time for me to post another blog. But I didn’t really know what to post.

For some reason that lead me to think about music, and then I wound up on youtube. I was reminded of a text that a friend of mine sent me this week asking me to listen to this song. It was such a blessing, sent to me at the perfect time. I was in the middle of work and I found the video on youtube and then sat in silence, eyes closed, as I let the words sink in. This song has so much truth in it. It demonstrates a true fear of the Lord, reminding us of his utmost perfection and glory. But what I love and what I needed to hear was that in the midst of lies from the enemy, the Lord has fought, is fighting, and will continue to fight for us. He has covered all of our shame and all of our human-ness. After reminding me of who I am in Christ, the song reminds us of the worship that God deserves. Simply put- “Hallelujah”. Praise God, no matter what your circumstances, no matter what you would rather your life look like right now, no matter if things are hard or easy, fun or boring, lonely or joyful. In the midst of our praise, I truly believe that God brings us out of despair into the truth. He reveals, yet again to us, what our purpose and passions are, what we are made to do- and ultimately, how much he loves us.

Needless to say, I was incredibly encouraged by this song this week, and it has been on repeat quite a bit 🙂 I am learning not to fight new battles with old tactics, and as a result, I am trying to praise God more often with my life when it is not easy. I realize more and more that when I redirect my thoughts towards God during times of difficulty or great change, or in times where I don’t even want to be in my own skin, it is then that he pushes us into new maturity and healthier ways of facing situations. God is so faithful. It is not always easy to fully believe this in times of great difficulty or confusion or waiting, but I choose to look at that as the reality. And it helps.

Psalm 89:7-9 says:

“In the council of the holy ones God is greatly feared; he is more awesome than all who surround him.

Who is like you, LORD God Almighty? You, LORD, are mighty, and your faithfulness surrounds you.

You rule over the surging sea; when its waves mount up, you still them.”

I love this. God IS mighty and faithful to rescue us in our time of need. Unfortunately, that does not always look the way we think it should- but God is above all things, he knows the perfect timing for everything, and sometimes we have to walk with him, trusting that. We might not always believe it, but through all seasons of life God is still God and he is still faithful and he still has a plan for us. Phew. Thank goodness.

God. Hears. Us.

-and I am thankful-

On a different note- I graduate in 50 days. And that includes all weekends and the 10 days I will be in Mexico. (not that I am counting) THAT IS CRAZY- I am so excited for what is next and to see where I will end up. I am applying to Saint Mary’s and I am really excited about the credential program they offer. I also am planning on getting involved in the Mexico campus that my church is starting to put together, as well as tutoring in Spanish and Reading to students over the summer- SO much is in store (especially since all or none of that could actually come to pass)- but I am also trying to be present, enjoy the few days I have left in my awesome apartment, at this amazing school, with these amazing friends of mine. Its a hard place to be- but as God has SO proven himself faithful in the past, I know he promises to do the same in the future.

Or so I continue to tell myself- because I lose sight of that truth sometimes. Oops 🙂

Hope you have had a good Thursday (which, in my opinion, is a great day) and TGI(almost)F!

I am headed to the bay tomorrow to see my family- AH! Can not wait- I just love them. SO. much.

-blessings-

Leave a Reply

