.s.l.o.w.

 

“My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry”

Slowing down. Ugh.
Why is this so hard?
It hit me last night that I need to slow down.
I do everything way too fast:
I talk too fast, I think too fast, I move too fast, I drive too fast (sorry mom), I react too fast, I do my homework too fast, I eat too fast, etc. The more I think about it, the more I realize how quickly I do everything.
Even my brother has said to me a few times, “You talk reallllly fast” (This is of course the first thing he says after I pour my heart out to him while updating him on all that is going on… gotta love brothers 🙂 ) But in all seriousness, I don’t often realize how quickly I am moving until I stop and breathe… which unfortunately is more often times than not as soon as my head hits the pillow.
And when I realize what it looks like to live life really fast, it hits me that I don’t want to live like that. I really don’t. Think about how much of our lives has gone by already- and how much of that time can you actually say you have truly enjoyed. Truly grasped the beauty of each moment, truly appreciated what each memory holds, and really soaked up the reality of the moment.
Obviously life can tend to catch up with us, and there are weeks that I purposely do everything really quickly just in the hope that it finishes that much more quickly. I am in a place like that right now- graduation is less than 6 weeks away. I can taste it, I can feel it, I can see it. These 4 years at APU have been phenomenal, life-changing, amazing- but I am ready. I am SO ready. So lately I have been focusing on what comes after graduation- planning everything out in my mind, interviewing, talking to people about summer plans, looking more forward to what’s coming than to what is right in front of me. I have lost sight of many moments that this semester has had to offer- and I am trying to live in the reality that it is coming to a close sooner than I realize. I don’t want to look back on this semester and wish I had lived it differently.
So all that to say- I am trying to slow down. I am even trying to walk slower 🙂 All in the hope that I can look at what today has to offer- today and today alone. Not tomorrow, not this summer, not this coming weekend (I get to meet my nephew for the first time!!! 🙂 ). Overall, I pray that slowing down allows me to see God more clearly, to understand his purpose in this very moment, and to allow him to prepare me for the future- and the only way I can let him do that is by living in today.
Slowing. Appreciating. Growing. Living.
One thought on “.s.l.o.w.

  1. Ally, I have to say this is a wonderful post. It really made me think about how I need to slow down and make sure I’m not missing anything God has to show me or use me in some way. I don’t want to set my speed without first stopping to consider God’s will in my life.

    Thanks Ally 🙂
    xoxoxo
    Meg

Leave a Reply

