time is flying by

Well I feel like I have fallen off the face of the earth the last few weeks. 
I kind of have. 
Things have been insane.
But they are finally slowing down.
Thank goodness.
Here is a recap to bring you up to date-
 
Mexico was… interesting. It was a time where I really learned what I want from Mexico in the future. It was a time to learn that God has had me in the amazing admin position for a mission organization this year, teaching me and growing me in so many ways- but its not where I see myself long term. I want to be working more hands-on with children or the Mexican people in general in the future. I have no clue what Mexico opportunities are to come, but I do pray that God has that in His plan. I trust he does 🙂
 
 
This is one of my best friends, Bre. She was a HUGE support to me in Mexico- in fact, the two of us ended up driving home early because we took a few sick people over the border to the Emergency Room and then drove them back to APU together. I could not have done it with out her- she is such an amazing blessing in my life. Her last name is Williams- so we call each other teammates 🙂
 
 
This is mi hermano (my brother) from Casa Betesda in Mexicali. I met him in the Fall of 2009. He is an awesome kid and it was such a surprise to see him! He was on our camp site for the Fellowship Night we have for the people in the community, and he came up to say hi to me- in the middle of lots of chaos going on with people who were sick- but it was the biggest gift of my time there. He is great, and a huge reason to continue going to Mexicali.
 
 
After Mexico, I went home and spent a few extra days in the bay for Easter with my family. It was such a great time. I got to spend time with Rachel, my best. That was great too. I also spent a lot of time with my new adorable nephew- I tried to give my brother and sister a little bit of a break, so we went for long walks around town and let them get out of the house for a bit. I will take him any day, because as far as I am concerned- he is the cutest baby ever 🙂
 
Is he not the cutest?!!
 
 
After spring break, it was time to open the books and start preparing for my last set of finals. And I honestly was not sure I had it in me. But somehow, by the grace of God, I finished them. In fact, there was a little bit of a curveball thrown in at the end. My last two finals were on Tuesday afternoon and evening. I finished my first final, Spanish 440, which is Spanish Linguistics and it is an independent study. It is not easy by any means, and after spending lots of time studying, I felt like the test went really well. Better than expected. I was not really ready to say goodbye to this amazing professor, so I told him I would stop by later in the week. He innocently asks, “Where is your paper?” Long story short, there was a 10 page paper ALL in Spanish due that day. We never talked about it although it was in the syllabus- not to mention I had my hardest final to go finish studying for AND a big friend get together that night at my house to celebrate being done. But now I was hardly finished. So I shed a few tears out of pure stress, and then I finished my last test, went home and enjoyed the company at my house and went to bed. The next morning I spent 6 hours on the first paper I have ever written in Spanish and turned it in. With the help of Starbucks and another amazing Spanish professor of mine, I finished it and submitted it with crossed fingers. The biggest influencing factor in me finishing quickly was that Rachel and my mom were coming to LA that day- so I took that greatly into consideration and finished quickly. But well 🙂
 
These are my two amazing Spanish professors. I have such a great appreciation for the language because of these two. Thank you!
 
 
Then came Disneyland with mom and Rachel, and spending time with Todd, Sarah, and Grayson in LA. Dad came in Thursday and Friday was Convocation. Steve and Jenna and Betty and Rich came in on Friday and we all had an amazing dinner at McCormick and Schmick that night. It was phenomenal. I was so incredibly blessed to be surrounded by a supportive and loving family with great friends who have been with me through everything. I kept reminding myself that graduation and college is something that most people only dream about and it never seems achievable. Because of a great support system and the true dedication of my parents, that dream became a reality last week, and I did not want to let it pass me by quickly. Saturday was graduation- the time had finally come. It was so hard to believe. Receiving that diploma was one of the greatest feelings in the world. All the hard work, the sweat, the tears, the laughter, the relationships, and the memories- there it was in a piece of paper.
 
So now- a week later- after moving out, saying goodbye to friends, moving back home, and having a cyst removed from my tailbone today- I am officially a college graduate living at home 🙂
I am so glad to have this time at home- and my latest news? I will be starting a Multiple Subject credential program at St. Mary’s College in Moraga this June. Originally I was going to wait until January, but the final decision has become June. I am registered for classes, and in June I will be back in school- the only thing I have known for so long 🙂 I will graduate next May, Lord willing, and be able to teach starting in the fall of 2012. 
Meanwhile, I will be tutoring in Spanish and trying to put my Spanish minor to good use. I have a few tests that I want to take to be certified to teach English Language Learners as well as Spanish at the high school levels. 
 
Anyways, lots is to come this summer as I get more involved in an amazing church here. I am so excited to see all that is in store and it is weird to realize that my life in LA is completely finished- that chapter of my life has closed and I am realizing how weird that feeling is. The best part, though, is that I know God had me there for a time. That time is over and he has so much for me in the future. I am trusting that one step at a time, and we will see what is to come! 
 
Here are a few pictures of the last week at APU until now. 
 
Disneyland
 
 
McCormick and Schmick
 
Just received our diplomas!!
 
 
I am a graduate!!
 
 
 
That is all for now. Just took pain meds- should probably go to sleep before I write something strange 🙂
 
Here is to the future and whatever it holds.
 

 Do not let your heart envy sinners, but always be zealous for the fear of the LORD. 

There is surely a future hope for you, and your hope will not be cut off.

  Listen, my son, and be wise, and set your heart on the right path.

Proverbs 23:17-19

 
 
Leave a Reply

