speechless

For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his

eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being

understood from what has been made, so that people are without

excuse. -Romans 1:20″

 

To be honest, I am not left speechless very often. Last night’s sunset was incredible. A friend of mine and I went to the city, stopped by Crissy Field and Fort Mason, and then headed over the Golden Gate bridge to Muir Beach. We realized we would not be able to see the sunset from Muir Beach, so we ended up at the Muir Beach overlook. This was the sunset we got to watch. With cameras in hand, this sunset occupied both of us for quite a while, changing every few minutes to make our pictures continually better and better. The color deepened, the shadows changed, and the reflection on the ocean grew more and more powerful. As I stood on the path and took pictures of the sunset, I all of a sudden realized the need to stop. As much as I crave pictures to represent the moment I am in, to look back at later on down the road, I was moved to give that up and breathe in what I was witnessing. An incredible painting and work of art by an ever-present, all-powerful God who craves our devotion. It was a reminder that I find helpful so often: “Ally, no matter what is going on around you, let this sunset remind you that I am still fully in control. I see the big picture, I have your best interest in mind. Let this remind you to trust me.” It always amazes me that a sunset, or God’s creation in general, can bring me to that place over and over again. No matter what is going on in front of my eyes, if you put me in a place like this, I can not deny the presence of God. It is constant, faithful and gentle. This trip into the city, especially the sunset, was the reminder I needed of God himself. God’s character shines through his sunsets, it speaks through the wind, and it answers us through the rain. Creation is undeniably dripping with the very presence of God. I have no excuse but to worship God for exactly who he is. He is never anything other than what he has promised. He never fails. In him we find our true selves, and he is so faithful to make us more and more like him.

I don’t deserve that, but I am so humbled every time I catch a true glimpse of the eternal power of God. Last night was a great night to be reminded of what is important, where my priorities need to be, and that I am on an exciting journey with a God who is guiding me every step of the way.

Leave a Reply

