find rest.

In my last post, I talked about how I felt the need to stop and take in the sunset I was taking pictures of. Little did I know, Ariel had taken a photo of me watching that sunset. I love this photo. You can see the true power of God. As I watched this sunset for a few minutes, I literally felt as though my soul was finding rest. It was refueling, quenching, and satisfying. Being brought back to the truth of God’s power and plan is refreshing. I love it.

Jeremiah 6:16 “This is what the LORD says: “Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.”

I find over and over again that doing what you love brings you rest. That doesn’t mean it might not be hard work at times, but overall, when we do what we love, we find purpose at the very center of it. Taking pictures is something I love. I love capturing the exact same thing over and over again, but that it looks so different from every angle. I love that by capturing an image, you can go back 5 years later, reminisce about the memory, still feel the same emotion as when it happened, and that recreating it exactly as it was is impossible. Taking pictures helps me savor the moment, cherish the beauty of what is around me, and causes me to look for the beauty in something that might not naturally be pleasing to the eye. Beauty is everywhere, sometimes we just have to look a little harder to find it. 

Find rest. Don’t know how? Do what you love.

Leave a Reply

