a reason for every season

I like this song a lot. The words are so creative and so applicable to life in general. Friday night was a great night. I went on a run around dinner time and for the first time in almost a year of living in this house, decided to climb the hill directly across from our driveway. Now I didn’t climb all the way up because to be honest, I kind of thought there might be some sneaky snakes in their holes. So, I went half way up and kind of to the side. I was blown away by the beauty of the fog rolling in. I went partially up Mt. Diablo the other night trying to catch the fog rolling in and was somewhat pleased with what I saw, but I think this blew my expectations out of the water. All I had was my iPhone, so this picture does not do it complete justice. Needless to say, it was a great way to end my run- absolutely stunning views of the hills and the faithful bay area fog. So beautiful.

These two photos represent the second half of my Friday night. My close friend, Kristina, came over for the first time all summer. She spent a few weeks down in the southern states teaching summer school and ended up coming home a little earlier than planned. We had LOTS to catch up on, as always. We sat in my backyard and drank margaritas and ate popcorn. Random combination, but simple and delicious. (the real reason I wanted to blog about this was to show off my new lens… its wide angle/fish eye and photos turn out really fun)- anyways- We laughed, talked, shared, and just plain enjoyed each others company.

After our wonderful appetizer, we decided to use this beautiful fruit that Kristina had fresh picked from the tree earlier that day to make smoothies. Into the blender it went, with a little OJ and some yogurt, and before we knew it, we had some amazing smoothies to enjoy. We had now moved to the couch in the family room, comfy under a blanket, sharing what God was doing in our lives, what we were learning, where we thought we would be at this point in life versus where we actually are, and how God is using that to teach us so much. It was a beautiful night of girl conversation, wisdom spoken towards one another, questions asked, and memories shared. We literally busted up over some of our fondest memories. Kristina was my first friend when I made the big move to California, and whether we like all of the memories or not, we have lots of them. SO many 🙂

I realized that before Kristina came over (and Rachel later on too!), I had this deep desire to hear about what God is doing in the lives of my close friends. I have such a desire to know that he is moving, and I want to know how they see it, if they are seeking it, and how we can all soak up this precious wisdom at such a crucial age in our lives. I think a part of it too, is that I don’t want these conversations to stop just because we are no longer at a Christian school, surrounded by so many like-minded people. I still want to see and hear about all that God is doing around me, in me and through me, as well as from all of the people I share life with. I never appreciated those late night conversations over frozen yogurt, pizza, or popcorn- the beach front conversations watching the sunset- prayer groups with people we hardly knew- and worship nights where we poured our hearts out in surrender. Those moments are something I look back on now and completely cherish.

Anyways, before I continue rambling on a tangent (which is FAR from where I intended to go with this blog- hence the title) I will say this- I am realizing more and more that there is a reason for every season. After talking with two amazing women on Friday night about all that they are learning, I was reminded of one of life’s greatest lessons. We are exactly where we should be and as long as we choose to see it this way, we have crucial lessons to learn that will help propel us into the future. THAT is exciting. No matter where we are, even if we feel blinded by what is ahead, we can look to the God of the past and know that he has not changed- he is the same yesterday, today, forever. So through the faithful fog that rolls in over my house every night, to the real life stories of what people are learning around me, and from the memories of who God has been in the past, is in the present, and who I am trusting will be in the future, I come to realize over and over again that there is a very specific reason for this season of my life.

In that reason, we have purpose. And it is for that purpose that I want to live- it is for that purpose that I am earning my credential, going to Mexico in two weeks, and learning how to improve my photography. These are the things that make me come alive, which help me to speak of God’s truth in greater detail, and which give me purpose.

I don’t really know what else to say. So I will end there.

isaiah 14:24   “The LORD Almighty has sworn, “Surely, as I have planned, so it will be, and as I have purposed, so it will happen.”

romans 9:17   “I raised you up for this very purpose, that I might display my power in you and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.”

2 corinthians 5:5   “Now the one who has fashioned us for this very purpose is God, who has given us the Spirit as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.”

One thought on “a reason for every season

  1. absolutely beautiful, I am so blessed to be your friend and to have wonderfully deep conversations with you. Love you

Leave a Reply

