something worth pursuing


“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, Patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self- control. Against such things there is no law. Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.”

-Galatians 5:22-25

I saw this clip by Francis Chan at a bible study last night. The clip was about 20 minutes long, but this gives you a glimpse into what he was talking about. The Holy Spirit is something that a lot of people tend to fear I think. The Holy Spirit is mysterious and I think people fear its great power. I love how Francis Chan puts it. The Holy Spirit was placed in us as a replacement for the physical Jesus. The Holy Spirit was placed in us to be greater than Jesus himself. Wow.

Then I got to thinking about what the bible says about the Holy Spirit in addition to what Francis Chan spoke on. This verse came to mind- the fruits of the Holy Spirit are absolutely beautiful. Everyone I know, Christian or not, wants to know people who possess these ‘traits’. As I pray and hear more about the Holy Spirit, I desire to let it be the guiding force more and more in my life. I want my life to be more than prayer, community, and love- I want my life to be flowing with the fruits of the Spirit.

In this transition period of my life- post college, earning my teaching credential, living at home for the next year, and really desiring to see what God ends up doing with my life, I want to be pursuing the Holy Spirit that God has placed in me. I pray it will start to manifest itself more and more, because I think like most people, I want to be used. I want my life to have purpose and greater meaning than what is right in front of my eyes. I see that coming to fruition sooner than later, but in this middle part of life, I want to see how pursuing these fruits of the Spirit will encourage my walk with God.

All that to say, sometimes I think clips like this are such a great reminder to take a look at our lives, catching a glimpse of where we stand, where we want to be going, and what steps we can be taking in order to get there. Thank God that he guides us each step of the way, gracefully shaping and molding us into people that look more and more like him. We get to do that our entire lives. To me, that is very exciting.

The Holy Spirit is worth pursuing- especially because we are being madly pursued by the Creator of the universe, the Creator of our very souls, and the One who chose to save us from ourselves. There is nothing better than living in that truth.

 “Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.” -Proverbs 19:21



3 thoughts on “something worth pursuing

  1. Pingback: The call is out there for us to be holy… « In all they do, they prosper

  2. Pingback: ONCE GOD ANOINTS YOU WITH THE HOLY SPIRIT NOTHING CAN STOP YOU | bummyla

  3. Thanks for a very insightful and thoughtful post. I recently finished Pastor Chan’s book “Crazy Love,” which I found to be a very good read.

Leave a Reply

