stop. drop. and roll.

ok. truth is, this post has nothing to do with being on fire and trying to stop, drop, and roll in order to put out the flames. I was reading through Ecclesiastes today, and this passage stuck out to me multiple times. 

 

Ecclesiastes 5:1

Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. Go near to listen rather than to offer the sacrifice of fools, who do not know what they do wrong.

At first I read this and thought- “Why do I need to guard my steps as I approach God?” I want to run up the stairs, burst open the doors, and shout as I enter the house of God. It was not much longer until I got to the end of the verse and gulped a little bit. Convicted. Yikes. Instead of rushing into the house of God to announce my presence, my motives should be something completely different. Ally, go near to listen rather to offer the sacrifice of fools. Fools. The sacrifice of fools is a harsh but accurate portrayal of what we bring to God so many times. “God, I’ve got the best stuff to give you. I served today, I prayed, I read my bible, I would like you to do this for me, Bless me here, Give me this, Make me this, Take away that.” What we don’t realize often enough is that God just wants us to walk into the house of his presence simply to listen. He has so much he wants to say to us. He has promises, encouragement, hopes, dreams, and purposes for us. He wants to pour them into us, fill us up, and reveal himself to us so that we can go give that to others. Unfortunately, listening is sometimes a lot harder than talking. Sitting in silence, calming down from the rush of our lifestyles, turning off the music, and turning our cell phones completely off is something that our generation barely knows. My greatest moments with God have been when I am fully devoted to him instead of time, place, schedule, agenda, to-do lists, etc. They have been those moments where I am completely alone with him and all the distractions have taken the time to leave. They are glorious. It is in those moments we are able to hear what God wants to say. It is in these moments that we realize our potential, our purpose, and our priorities. I do not want to offer God my foolish sacrifices and hope that they are good enough to get a smile and then spend the rest of my day doing as I please. I want my life to be my sacrifice- and in that, I am willing to listen to what God wants to say. It is in our foolishness that we can be wrong. So very wrong about the heart of God, who he is, who he wants us to be and what he expects from us. We twist things, get confused and start believing things about God’s character that just simply is not true. 

So stop. drop. and roll. Listen to God and stop worrying about what you can bring him. Because in reality, what we have to offer is nothing but ourselves. He wants us and he wants us fully. 

Leave a Reply

