busy or scared?

Does the thought of sitting still for more than 10 minutes scare you? How many times have you thought to yourself, “I’m just too busy. I don’t have enough time for that. Ugh! If only I had more time.”?

“The feeling of being hurried is not usually the result of living a full life and having no time. It is on the contrary born of a vague fear that we are wasting our life.”

I think we fear being alone with God because of the looming fear that we might have to be raw and real with Him. But we have to stop listening to these lies- because God already knows everything and he knows our hearts better than we do ourselves. So what can possibly be better than sitting alone before the Creator, sharing everything on your heart- the good, the bad, the ugly- and knowing that nothing you say can possibly be too much, too raw, too crude, too scary, too honest, too vulnerable, etc.? What a gift. And when we learn to sit in this place with the Lord, allowing our bodies to know what it means to come to a place of rest other than when we hit the pillow at night, we allow Him to transform our hearts and minds to be more like His- less occupied with the excuse of stress and ‘not enough time’ to do what matters most- place our focus back on Him.

We are a generation that is dying to be authentic, see authenticity, and experience authentic Christian community. How can we be the most authentic people possible? When we get alone with God -whether that is in the car on the way to work, at lunchtime in the classroom when all your students are in the cafeteria, in your cubicle, etc.- we come to understand and see who we are, how God has intimately created us, His plans for our life, and how much he loves us. When we give Him the chance to actually speak to us, when we soak up the truth of his Word and whoHe says we are, and when we come to believe that at the very core of who we are, we become authentic without fear or excuses. We become authentic without worrying about what others might think about us. We become authentic in a way that shouts the name of Christ- love, grace, gentleness, forgiveness. All because we gave a little more time to the Lord. How much time during your day is spent on filler things that are not filled with purpose? I am guilty of this. Often times, I would rather keep moving as the clock seems to tick faster, praying a little here and a little there, and doing everything in a hurry- yes, even serving, worshipping, and sharing life with others too quickly- than actually being still long enough for my heart rate to slow back down to normal. But I hate to break it to you- and to myself-

we are called to slow down. 

The truth is, if we live busy now, we will end up dying busy. And none of us want that. We need to stop making excuses. God is SO much bigger than our busyness- and life becomes really dangerous when we fail to recognize that. If we do not learn the discipline of slowing now- when will we? Life around us will only continue to grow faster and faster- so I think if we start learning how to discipline ourselves to spend time with the Lord now, no matter how ‘busy’ we are- we will see more about our future, what direction we should be heading, and most importantly, how much God loves us right in this very moment.

We need to stop fearing the reality of who we really are at our core. We were made this way. We were created for specific purposes. We are allowed to be imperfect. We are allowed to slow down. We are allowed to say no to others. We are allowed to speak up for ourselves. We are allowed to be completely honest with the Lord about everything  in our lives.

What if we just started with turning off the radio when we are in the car and using our commute time to pray for others (NEVER a bad idea to take the focus off ourselves and our ‘busy’ schedules and pray for someone else), waking up just 10 minutes earlier and starting the day in the Word, going to sleep a few minutes later (and if you fall asleep reading the Bible or journaling or praying- beautiful!), or spending 10 minutes of our Facebook time to put into our relationship with the Lord?

Because what I learned from the amazing service last weekend (find the message at http://www.newlifeinfo.com) was that my view of Jesus and the effort I put into my relationship with Him, reflects how big of a God I think he is. And let me tell you, I was convicted. My view of God can tend to become very small when I get caught up in my own selfish desires and thoughts, and lose sight of the fact that I am not in control. Yikes. I forgot about that one. But the best part about all of this? Because of how BIG our God is, we get to come to him just as we are, be exactly who we are-emotional, unemotional, furious, excited, anxious, depressed- and he still chooses to show us more of who He is and the heart he has for us.

 How big is your God?

Because the God of the bible, the only God, the God worth following, the God that is God no matter who I make him out to be, how I respond to him, how I spend my time, is our Advocate, Almighty, Alpha, Omega, Author of Life, Ruler, Bread of Life, Bridegroom, Bright Morning Star, Chief Shepherd, Chosen One, Comforter, Commander, Consuming Fire, Cornerstone, Counselor, Creator, Deliverer, Eternal, Everlasting, Faithful and True, Father, Friend, Gentle, God Over All, God Who Sees Me, High Priest, Head of the Body, Heir of All Things, Holy One, Holy Spirit, Hope, Jealous for Us, Jehovah, Elohim, Yahweh, Eternal King, Leader, Life, Lion, Living Water, Breath of Life, Love, Merciful, Messiah, Mighty, Peace, Potter, Purifier, Redeemer, Rock, Savior, Seed, Shield, Source, Teacher, True Light, Truth, Vine, Witness, Wonderful, and more. 

I don’t know about you, but that is a God that I want to give more time to. That is a God worthy of my ‘busyness’, a God that dwells in me no matter how ‘busy’ I am, a God who understands my crazy ‘schedule’, a God who pursues me no matter what my ‘time frame’ is like, and a God who wants me to first and foremost acknowledge his presence and his Spirit in my life, all throughout the day, in everything I do, at all hours, and in every way. 

So here is to seeking a God highly worth seeking- a God that I can confide in completely and that I am anxious to know more and more. Here is to the freedom to make that choice and the blessings that flow from a relationship with Him.

“It is not enough to be busy- so are the ants. The question is- what are you busy about?”

Slow down. Take a deep breath. What’s the hurry? Why wear yourself out? Just what are you after anyway?” Jeremiah 2:25

One thought on “busy or scared?

  1. Pingback: Time with God – Ezekiel 42 | This Day With God

Leave a Reply

