reminded

today I needed to be reminded of a few things. some are so basic for the faith, but as basic as they are, they are foundational for the Christian faith. as a result, I write these down as a reminder for myself of who God is, his promises, his love for us, and the freedom we get to experience in him.

1 Kings 8:22-25
Before the entire congregation of Israel, Solomon took a position before the Altar, spread his hands out before heaven, and prayed, O God, God of Israel, there is no God like you in the skies above or on the earth below who unswervingly keeps covenant with his servants and relentlessly loves them as they sincerely live in obedience to your way. You kept your word to David my father, your personal word. You did exactly what you promised—every detail. The proof is before us today! Keep it up, God, O God of Israel! Continue to keep the promises you made to David my father when you said, “You’ll always have a descendant to represent my rule on Israel’s throne, on the condition that your sons are as careful to live obediently in my presence as you have.”
 
 

When we get caught up in trying to take on the world- taking control over things we have a hard time trusting God with- we lose sight of the fact that God is relentlessly and crazily chasing after us with a deep passion. His love never fails. His love never changes. His love is not based on our circumstances, what we want to believe or what we want to deny, and its definitely not based on our own desires. And as we live in obedience to him, we are truly fulfilled by that love because we take the time to soak in it, accept it, and live it out. God’s love doesn’t just enter our lives and dwell there. It transforms us. Otherwise its not his true love. It can’t be because His love is the absolute perfect, flawless love that no one will experience apart from God. What a gift. I could (and have needed to) sit in that thought all day today. “God loves me, he likes me, and he is crazy about me.”

Isaiah 40:25

“To whom will you compare me?
Or who is my equal?” says the Holy One.
Lift up your eyes and look to the heavens:
Who created all these?
He who brings out the starry host one by one
and calls forth each of them by name.
Because of his great power and mighty strength,
not one of them is missing.

God is powerful. And thank goodness. Because in times of weakness (and even in our greatest strength), God’s power intervenes on our behalf. I need to be reminded of his power- and thank God it doesn’t go away based on the decisions I make, the thoughts I have, or the mistakes I make. I always look to nature to be reminded of his mighty, faithful, moving power. This verse is one of my favorites because it brings me back to the reality- I am a small piece to the gigantic puzzle that God has placed on this earth- he is the creator, all-powerful, all-knowing God who loves us. He demonstrates that through his perfect and beautiful creation that surrounds us all the time.

 

And you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.
 
 

I encourage you to remind yourself of some of the qualities of God today. His love for you, his heart for his creation, and the powerful ways he continually is moving. He never stops. He never slows down. Reminding ourselves of these things brings us back to reality, the ability to live in and enjoy the moment, and relax in the presence of who God is. I needed that today. Hope you are encouraged.

Leave a Reply

