uncomfortable

 

“To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.” CS Lewis

Why is vulnerability such a scary thing for us sometimes? Why do we allow fear to change how we act, what we expect, and how we respond to others? I have seen to many areas of my life where fear of vulnerability has caused me to be someone I don't want to be, to live in fear of others and of revealing who I am in full- but why should we be afraid of that? Is that not exactly God's creation that we see in the mirror? Is it not exactly how we should be? How He wants us to be? Why don't we respond in boldness, confidence, and excitement for the promises and protection of God? I don't know, but I do know that I am ready to start giving God the power He truly has over my life, and not the mirror, not the fear, and not the lies. Join me.
Matthew 5:16
“Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.
Leave a Reply

