paradosi

Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 7.13.04 PM

 

 

 

“Paradosi”.

Surrender.

What does that even mean?

We are so often told to “surrender”- and that the result will be freedom.

I want to feel fully free. Christ gave it ALL in order that you, that I, might live in freedom. And not just when it is easy to live freely.

But in everyday life, through all of life’s situations- free. Completely, utterly, and deeply free.

Sitting in traffic the other day, I felt a nudging. “Ally, with everything going on in your life right now, you should be surrendering and re-surrendering multiple times a day.”

So I decided to look up what this word means in Greek. I love looking up definitions in Greek- such a raw and real definition. I read through the first few definitions, getting a clearer idea of how to view this word, how to make it more applicable for my own life.

to give into the hands (of another)
to give over into (one’s) power or use
to deliver to one something to keep, use, take care of, manage

I love those definitions. The idea of surrendering to a God who would give, and still does give, anything and everything to chase after us, to pursue us, to find us, to mold us, to hold us, and to teach us is worth giving in to. I kept reading down the list of definitions, and if the earlier ones were not enough, I got to the bottom of the list… and I was in awe of what I read:

when the fruit will allow that is when its ripeness permits

I was quickly reminded of the verse in John 15:2 that says, “He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.”

I love the imagery of this verse. I was so encouraged by thinking of the idea of surrender. I am hopefully living my life in a way to bears fruit, but when that fruit (various areas of my life) will continue to surrender, daily- sometimes many times daily- it will continue to grow more and more ripe. So much hope, and anticipation for the way God will choose to use me, to mold me, to teach me… all in hopes of becoming more like him.

The faithfulness of God. Brings me to my knees in humble adoration of such a loving and patient God.

Freedom- being free. Living free in all areas of my life.

This is something I continue to work towards.

Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 7.32.38 PM

 
 

 

Leave a Reply

